A diet that includes all the food items having minimal gluten content is called a Gluten Free Diet. A gluten free diet is a significant necessity of people having celiac disease. Gluten allergy is a food allergy that is related with the exposure of certain kinds of food. The gluten free diet is for those who have wheat intolerance. Gluten is a kind of complex natural protein that is present in a number of cereals and grains such as wheat, rye and barley. Wheat is considered as a staple food for a large number of people around the globe.
Even people whom do not have celiac disease are up to take gluten free meal as firstly celiac disease is on rise these days. Secondly gluten free is in fashion these days because of celebrities and sportspersons as they are dropping down the gluten from their meals.
Symptoms of Gluten Intolerance
Gastrointestinal disorders are the most obvious symptoms of gluten intolerance. It includes diarrhea, vomiting, bloating, abdominal pain, constipation, queasiness, gas etc. Headaches, migraines, muscular pain, irrational mood shifts, chronic and sudden irritability are also signs of having gluten intolerance. A number of neurological issues may also indicate your wheat sensitivity.
How to Know if you are Gluten Sensitive or not
It is important to list every symptom that annoy you to make the final decision either you have gluten sensitivity or not. List the nagging signs without explanations. It must be a lengthy list of signs. Try to go for a gluten free diet program for 60 days. It should not be next to impossible for you. If it’s like that it means you are addicted to the things you are allergic to. The necessity of having 60 day gluten free diet trial increases to make it sure. After 2 months revise your list and mark that how many annoying signs remain. If there is a huge change in the list then you must continue with the gluten free diet. You can give another try to your regular diet if you are uncertain about the results to see if the listed signs come back or not.
Food Items Rich in Gluten
Wheat is the major source of Gluten. It’s obvious that all food items having wheat in it are rich sources of gluten including pasta, spaghetti, doughnuts, waffles, bagels, Biscuits, cookies, cakes and breads. There are many other cereals than wheat which provide gluten and it is good to know about if you are gluten sensitive to avoid them. They are barley, farina and rye. Since gluten is a thickening agent so it is used in a number of food items such as ice creams, soups, puddings and sauces. All the processed food items are loaded with gluten including chips, hamburgers, pizzas, hotdogs, salamis etc. Gluten is such common ingredient in food items and a person having celiac disease or gluten sensitivity has to be very careful about their diet.
Guest Author Bio:
Clara John likes to know and perform fitness techniques to live an active and fit life. For more credible information about Health & Fitness visit our website Fitness Republic